Hengeler Mueller, as part of an integrated team with Slaughter and May, Bredin Prat and De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek, advises Tata Steel Group on its 50/50 Joint Venture with thyssenkrupp AG

03. July 2018

Hengeler Mueller, as part of an integrated team with Slaughter and May in the UK, Bredin Prat in France  and De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek in The Netherlands, is advising Tata Steel Group on its definitive agreements to enter into a 50/50 Joint Venture with thyssenkrupp AG to create a leading European steel enterprise by combining the flat steel businesses of the two companies in Europe and the steel mill services of the thyssenkrupp group. The Joint Venture would have annual shipments of around 21 million tonnes of flat steel products and have a pro forma turnover of around EUR 15 bn per year.

Tata Steel Group is a leading global steel company. thyssenkrupp AG is a German multinational corporation and one of the largest steel producers in the world.

Hengeler Mueller advised Tata Steel Group in an integrated team with Best Friend law firms Slaughter and May and De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek. The Hengeler Mueller team was led by partners Andreas Hoger and Christof Jäckle (both M&A) and included partners Lucina Berger (Corporate) (all Frankfurt), Matthias Scheifele (Tax, Munich), Nikolaus Vieten, Johannes Tieves (both Financing), Hendrik Bockenheimer (Labour/Pensions) (all Frankfurt), Markus Röhrig (Antitrust, Brussels), Jan D. Bonhage (Regulatory/Public Law), Sebastian Schneider (Energy) (both Berlin) and Vera Jungkind (Compliance/Data Protection, Düsseldorf), counsel Gunther Wagner, Markus Ernst (both Tax, Munich), Patrick H. Wilkening, Andrea Schlaffge, Astrid Harmsen (all IP/IT, Düsseldorf), Peter Wehner (Labour/Pensions, Frankfurt) as well as associates Christoph Trautrims, Till Wansleben (both Frankfurt), Christian Schmalenbach (Berlin), Mandana Bahrampour (London), Tobias Schilling, Radmila Petrovic (both Frankfurt) (all M&A), Annette Petow (Corporate, Frankfurt), Maximilian Wosgien (IP/IT, Düsseldorf), Eckbert Müller (Labour/Pensions, Frankfurt), Marius Mayer (Labour, Frankfurt), Peter Dieterich, Erasmus Hoffmann, Henning Voss (all Regulatory/Public Law), Susanne Koch (Regulatory/Public Law, Düsseldorf), Moritz Rademacher, Jonas Brost (both Energy), Clemens Hoehn (all Berlin), Johannes Baumann (Munich) (both Real Estate), Pierre G. Zickert (Financing, Frankfurt), Deniz Tschammler (Compliance/Data Protection, Düsseldorf), Malcolm Tiffin-Richards (Antitrust, Brussels) and Sebastian Gössling (Litigation, Berlin). The Slaughter and May team included partners Robin Ogle, Filippo de Falco, Andrew McClean and Phil Linnard, the Bredin Prat team included the partners Laetitia Tombarello and Alexandre Orts, and the De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek team included partners Mark Rebergen and Anja Mutsaers.